top of page
  • Writer's pictureevaallengrace

Understanding growth charts

Updated: Mar 31, 2021

In 1977 growth charts were born. I remember when I commented to my mom about my daughters percentile, she had no idea what I was talking about.


"We didn't have those when you were born," she said.

I was born in 1986, so likely her doctor's office did have them but didn't use them as common place as pediatricians do now.


Every parent knows that on every well care visit for your babe measurements are taken for their length, weight, and head circumference. Often your baby will fall into different categories.


At first glance, you may be concerned that your babe isn't in the 95% percentile! But the key to understanding these charts is to understand it does not matter where your baby falls on the chart -- what matters is if they are growing appropriately and proportionally. As long as your baby is eating well and developing there is generally nothing to worry about.


My daughter was born at 5.5 pounds, and since birth has fallen under the 5% percentile on the growth charts. Initially our pediatrician was not concerned but after our six month check up she told me that I needed to feed my baby more. I went from a comfortable doctor's office experience to feeling shamed for not feeding my baby enough.


Now, my daughter eats well and always has, but she has also never consumed the full recommended amount of 28-32 oz. I tried increasing the nipple size for a faster flow on her bottle and feeding her an additional 5 oz bottle a day, and she would not take it. She continued to grow and gain weight but on her terms!


Growth charts can sometimes lead parents to feel like they are doing something wrong or feed into the fear of not feeding your child enough. Now that my baby is a little older at ten months old when I go into her doctor's appointment all I am concerned with is if she has grown. Which of course she has! Just because a baby is small does not mean they are unhealthy.


Growth charts are just one form of information! If baby is growing and developing that is what matter the most. What has your experience been with the growth chart? Do you find it gives you more peace of mind or anxiety?



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page